HPMS Sends 14 Singers to Region Choir

Kerrville, TX (Oct. 27, 2021) – Members of the Hal Peterson Middle School Choir competed in UIL Region Choir auditions recently, claiming 14 spots. More than 25 students auditioned in San Antonio on Oct. 23 against students from the San Antonio area.

Students earning a region chair will participate in a clinic, followed by a public performance on Saturday, Nov. 13 at Marshall High School in San Antonio.

“I’m so proud of each and every single one of these kids for taking part in this awesome opportunity,” said HPMS Choir Director Jessie Putnam.

From the Non-Varsity Treble Choir, Jessiah Garcia earned 4th chair soprano.  

Those earning spots from the Varsity Treble Choir were Faith Vasquez, 9th chair; Abigayle Maloney, 22nd chair and Valentina Aleman, 23rd chair, all sopranos. Daisy Lovelady earned 21st chair in alto.

Members from the Tenor/Bass Choir earning spots include Dylan Melton, 4th chair; Ethan Gaige, 9th chair; and Joe Guajardo, 11th chair, all Tenor 1. Tenor 2 includes Samuel Huff, 1st chair; Cooper Pruitt, 2nd chair; Jaykob Lopez, 9th chair; and Rogelio Gomez, 19th chair. From bass, AJ Dequina earned 13th chair and Mark Biemer earned 18th chair.

Other students who auditioned for the choir include Mikela Manis, Kaitlyn Cravey, Farrah De Los Santos, Fayelynn Ruiz, Ada Gutierrez, Alexis Rodgers, Zoey Flores, Nautica McKee, Hailey Van Nostrand, Myeisha Lombrana, Adysen Blair, Evan Castellanos, Yazmine Salinas, Athena Harty, and Ezra Castillo.

HPMS Region Choir members

Members of the Hal Peterson Middle School Choir auditioned for the UIL Region Choir recently. Those earning spots include, left to right, front row: Joe Guajardo, Ethan Gaige, AJ Dequina; Daisy Lovelady, Valentina Aleman, Dylan Melton; Jessiah Garcia, Rogelio Gomez, Samuel Huff; Faith Vasquez, Cooper Pruitt, Jaykob Lopez, Abigayle Maloney; Mark Biemer. These students will participate in a clinic and public performance at Marshall High School on Nov. 13.